Welcome to the Carol Strawn Center

The Carol Strawn Center is a private, non-profit organization whose mission is to operate an adult day center exclusively for charitable purposes for the care of people with Alzheimer's disease and related disorders.


2021 Walk to Care for Alzheimer's
100% virtual event!
Complete your walk anytime between October 20 and November 13


Incorporated in 2001, the Carol Strawn Center began operations with our adult day service in March 2002.

Family Care Planning was added as a service to assist families in developing in-home care plans in October 2002. In November 2004, this service was expanded to include Caregiver Education classes for families who did not require the assistance of our care planning service but who wished to learn more about their loved one’s disease, care management information and available community resources.

In November 2005, we began offering Memory Screens to individuals who were concerned about their memory as a new service.

Our Center is named in memory of Carol Strawn, who was deeply concerned for those with Alzheimer’s disease and who bequest her estate to help take care of Licking County residents with this unrelenting disease. Her dedication and commitment made our agency possible.

How We Are Funded

Funds received from service contracts with the Central Ohio Area Agency on Aging and grants from the Licking County Senior Citizens Levy and the Licking County United Way as well as private-pay service fees make up the majority of our revenue. Contributions made by individual donors, community organizations, and our own fundraising efforts provide additional financial support for our services.

The Thomas J. Evans Foundation also provides the building in which our agency is housed.

Senior Levy Fund

Officers & Trustees

Melissa T. Buelow, Ph.D., Chair
Pauline Stephenson, President/CEO
Michael Houser, Secretary
Jeffrey Priest, C.P.A., Treasurer
Julie Kohl, R.N., Vice President - Operations
Sam Lloyd, Vice President - Fund Development
Sarah Allen-Hageman, Vice President - Public Relations
Kirk Homrighouse
Amanda Johnson
Aaron Olbur
Mallory Wilkins